DWA logo South African flag
NATIONAL INTEGRATED WATER INFORMATION SYSTEM

Drought Status and Management

Dam Levels & Trends

The NIWIS Surface Water Storage dashboard spatially shows the dam levels and a time-series table of dam storage trends.

Click here to access current dam levels

Download chart showing monthly rainfall and dam storage levels trends

Download chart showing dam storage levels

Drought Status Reports, Alerts, and Warnings


Drought Status Report and map showing affected areas.

Download Drought Status Report

Download map showing affected areas

Contacts

For any drought-related queries contact:

DWS National Coordinator

Deputy Director General Emergency Projects
Mr Trevor Balzer
Tel: 012 336 8744
Cell: 082 807 3544
BalzerT@dws.gov.za

DWS Communications

Director Media Liaison and Content Development
(Department's Spokesperson)
Mr Sputnik Ratau
Tel: 012 336 6813
Cell: 082 874 2942
RatauS@dws.gov.za

DWS National Disaster Management

Chief Director: Policy & Strategy Co-ordination
Mrs Marie Brisley
Tel: 012 336 8768
Cell: 082 873 1549
BrisleyM@dws.gov.za

DWS National Drought Management Committee Chair

Director: Water Resources Planning Systems
Dr Beason Mwaka
Tel: (012) 336 8188
Cell: 082 807 6621
MwakaB@dws.gov.za

EASTERN CAPE - Provincial Head

Chief Director
Mrs P Makhanya
Tel: (043) 604 5406
Cell: 083 782 9916
MakhanyaP@dws.gov.za

FREE STATE - Provincial Head

Chief Director
Dr TP Ntili
Tel: (051) 405 9281
Cell: 082 803 3204
NtiliT@dws.gov.za

GAUTENG - Provincial Head

Acting Chief Director
Mrs P Ramunenyiwa
Tel: (012) 336 8065
Cell: 082 885 3915
RamunenyiwaP@dws.gov.za

KWAZULU-NATAL - Provincial Head

Chief Director
Mr A Starkey
Tel: (031) 336 2862
Cell: 082 809 5892
StarkeyA@dws.gov.za

LIMPOPO PROVINCE - Provincial Head

Chief Director
Mrs L Kobe
Tel: (015) 290 1230/1
Cell: 082 908 7924
KobeL@dws.gov.za

MPUMALANGA - Provincial Head

Acting Chief Director
Mr Masala Mulaudzi
Tel: (013) 759 7310/1
Cell: 082 327 5886
MulaudziM@dws.gov.za

NORTHERN CAPE - Provincial Head

Chief Director
Mr A Abrahams
Tel: (053) 830 8803/4
Cell: 083 883 6741
AbrahamsA@dws.gov.za

NORTH WEST - Provincial Head

Acting Chief Director
Dr TP Ntili
Tel: (018) 387 9547
Cell: 082 803 3204
NtiliT@dws.gov.za

WESTERN CAPE - Provincial Head

Chief Director
Mr R Khan
Tel: (021) 941 6004/6027
Cell: 082 809 2218
KhanR@dws.gov.za

RAND WATER HOT LINE

Toll Free Number
Tel: (0800) 212 364

Tips on Saving Water

In a time of water crisis such as this one its important that we do all we can to save water.

Click the below links for tips on how to save water in and around the house,business or garden.

For a downloadable pdf copy of the tips in:

  • English, click here.
  • Afrikaans, click here.
  • IsiNdebele, click here.
  • IsiXhosa, click here.
  • IsiZulu, click here.
  • SeSotho, click here.
  • SeSotho Sa Leboa, click here.
  • SeTshwana, click here.
  • SiSwati, click here.
  • Tshivenda, click here.
  • Xitsonga, click here.